top of page

Is Washington D.C. the capital of the United States?

What is the capital of the United States?

Washington, D.C. serves as the capital of the United States. It was founded in 1790 and is named after George Washington, the first President of the United States. The city is located on the east coast of the country, along the Potomac River.

Washington, D.C. is an independent federal district separate from any state. It serves as the home of the three branches of the U.S. government: the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. The White House, the official residence of the President, is located in Washington, D.C.

The city is known for its many museums, monuments, and landmarks, including the Smithsonian Institution, the National Mall, and the Lincoln Memorial. It is also home to many universities, think tanks, and international organizations.

Washington, D.C. has a population of over 700,000 people, and the greater metropolitan area has a population of over 6 million. The city has a diverse economy, with major industries including tourism, government, and education.

In conclusion, Washington, D.C. is the capital of the United States, named after George Washington. It serves as the seat of the U.S. government, houses iconic landmarks, and has a diverse economy.


  1. "Washington, D.C." Encyclopedia Britannica.

  2. "About DC."

  3. "White House." The White House.

0 views0 comments


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page